For the awards judging, small groups of category judges will include a sector expert, a leading farming figure in the field and a member of Farmers Guardian staff. The group will discuss the material and then score each entry against each of the judging criteria, ranking the top five entries for each criteria.

2018 Judging Panel

Agricultural Student of the Year – sponsored by Kubota

Ben Theaker

2017 Winner
Agricultural Student of the Year

Dorothy Fairburn

Regional Director of the North

Stuart Goodinson

Managing Director
De Lacy Executive

Arable Innovator of the Year – sponsored by Spaldings

Andrew Francis

2017 Winner
Arable Innovator of the Year

Prof Christine Watson

Crop and Soil Systems

Robert Lockhart

NFU Combinable Crops Board

Beef Innovator of the Year – sponsored by ABP Food Group

Clive Brown

Head of Knowledge Exchange
AHDB Beef and Lamb

Bryan Wilson

2017 Winner
Beef Innovator of the Year

Mary Vickers

Beef and Lamb Senior Scientist

Contractor Innovator of the Year – sponsored by Fendt

Graeme Parker

2017 Winner
Contractor Innovator of the Year

Charles Baker

National Association Agricultural Contractors (NAAC)

To be announced

Dairy Innovator of the Year – sponsored by Dairymaster

Joe Towers

2017 winner
Dairy Innovator of the Year

James Dunn

Managing Director
Promar International

Will Astley

Agriculture Course Manager (Dairy Speciality)
Reaseheath College

Digital Innovator of the Year – sponsored by Watson Fuels

Will Evans

2017 Winner
Digital Innovator of the Year

Jane Craigie

Managing Director
Jane Craigie Marketing

Nigel Akehurst

Founder of the Indie Farmer
Beef and lamb farmer

Diversification Innovator of the Year (small to medium)

Sam Moorhouse

2017 Winner
Diversification Innovator (small to medium)

Ann Rabey


Andrew Naylor

UK Head of Agriculture, SME banking
Lloyds Bank

Diversification Innovator of the Year (large) – sponsored by Firma Foreign Exchange

Lisa-Jane Fraser

2017 winner
Diversification Innovator (Large)

Rosie Hopkins

Business Manager
The Business Barn

Duncan Winspear

Farm Manager Consultant

Farm Worker of the Year – Sponsored by Isuzu UK

Marcus Potter

Chief Executive

John Hardman

HOPS Labour Solutions

William Judge

National Manager
Massey Ferguson UK and EIRE

Family Farm of the Year – sponsored by Morrisons

John Davies

NFU Cymru

Sarah Louise Fairburn

2017 Winner
Family Farm of the Year

Maddy Fitzgerald

Prince’s Countryside Fund Farm Resilience Programme

Farmers Guardian Farming Hero – Sponsored by Volac

Ben Briggs

Farmers Guardian

Danusia Osiowy

Head of Features
Farmers Guardian

Warren Butcher

Managing Director

Machinery Innovator of the Year – sponsored by ArmaTrac

Frank Morphet

2017 Winner
Machinery Innovator of the Year

Simon Ratcliffe

Engineering Director

Andrew Parr

Sales Operations Department Manager
Honda (UK) Power Products

New Entrant Award: Against the odds – sponsored by Massey Ferguson

Gary Mitchell

Vice President

Matthew Jackson

2017 Winner
New Entrant: Against the Odds

Roddy McClean

Director Agriculture

Outstanding Contribution to British Agriculture – sponsored by NSF International

Ben Briggs

Farmers Guardian

Danusia Osiowy

Head of Features
Farmers Guardian

Emma Penny

Group Editor

Sheep Innovator of the Year – sponsored by Shearwell Data

Ian Buchanan

British Wool

To be announced

Phil Stocker

Chief Executive
National Sheep Association

Sign up to our newsletter